The house of FENDI was founded by Adele and Edoardo Fendi in the Italian capital of Rome in 1925.
The first boutique was primarily a handbag shop and fur workshop, in via del Plebiscito, followed in 1926 it was clear that the Fendi store was a huge success.
In the late 40s all the way through the 50s, the daughters of Edoardo and Adele worked for the family’s business. Their names were Paola, Anna, Franca, Carla and Alda. They helped to bring a young and new look and energy to the fashion house.
In 1965 Fendi began to collaborate with a young German designer, the late Karl Lagerfeld. In the genius hands of Largerfeld, a fashion revolution takes place: the fur is changed and redesigned. It was in the period that he designs the iconic “double F” logo that stands for “Fun Furs”.
In 1992, Silvia Venturini Fendi, the third generation of the Fendi family, joins the international brand and is the second Artistic Direction along with Lagerfeld. Then 1994 she was given the responsibility of Accessories and soon after, the Menswear lines.
More recently in September 2020, British born, Kim Jones OBE joined the FENDI Family as Artistic Director of Haute Couture, Ready-to-Wear and Fur Collections for Women.